Find a Program
Learn more about becoming a teacher and find teacher preparation programs at


Elections for NAAC executive officers are conducted by mail. In 2015, the president-elect will be elected. The president-elect will serve a two-year term from March 2015 through March 2017, immediately followed by a two-year term as president, immediately followed by a term as past president.

Ballots will be mailed to all NAAC members no later than February 13, 2015. Completed ballots must be received by NAAC no later than Friday, March 13, 2015. The winner will be announced at the NAAC Membership Business meeting during the annual conference. The Membership Business meeting will be held on Friday, March 20 at 8:00 - 8:00 am.

Elections for regional directors take place during the regional meetings on-site at the annual conference. This year, Region 1 and Region 3 will hold elections. Nominations may be made using the downloadable Nomination Form. The form must be signed by the nominee and submitted to NAAC by email, fax or mail on or before January 26, 2015. The Nominations and Elections committee will develop a slate for each position and the slate will be announced at the Regional meeting during the annual conference. However, nominations may also be made from the floor during the regional elections. The regional meetings will take place on Thursday, March 19 at 3:30 - 4:30 pm.

Nominees should review the duties and responsibilities of board members here.

Information on NAAC Board positions is available in the Bylaws.

Duties of the President-Elect

The Regional Directors are a vital component of the operation of NAAC. They provide the key linkage between the Board of Directors and the State Representatives. Effective communication between the Regional Directors and the states in their regions is essential. There are five (5) regions that make up the NAAC.

Duties of Regional Directors

Region 1: Alaska, Arizona, California, Colorado, Guam, Hawaii, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, Oregon, Utah, Washington, Wyoming

Region 2: Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, Ohio, South Dakota, Wisconsin

Region 3: Arkansas, Louisiana, Oklahoma, Texas

Region 4: Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Virginia, West Virginia

Region 5: Connecticut, Delaware, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Vermont, Washington, DC

© 2004. All Rights Reserved